See Kai Run. See Kai Eat.

Eat, Run, Repeat.

Seven(teen) to Heaven August 3, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kai @ 8:51 pm

Two miles in yesterday, I started feeling the knee twinge.  At the end of the 7-mile loop, still feeling energized, I started on the 10-mile loop and took a stretch break at Mile 9.  At Mile 10, I stopped and was faced with the decision of whether to keep running or turn around and walk home.  My knee wasn’t in excrutiating pain by any means, but I could feel that annoying, dull twinge with every step.  It was a frustrating situation where you’re not sure if you should press on, or if you should just call it a day to avoid more damage.  9 times out of 10, the latter is the right answer, which of course means I chose the former.  I kept running.

My pace was slow, but this wasn’t the run to worry about speed, lest I exacerbate the pain.  At every hydration break, I stretched a bit and tried to shake out my right leg.  I just wanted to finish my LSD this week so I could take my cutback week in peace, instead of being anxious about making up the long run.  Despite the knee, I felt surprisingly good.  No side cramps, no grumbly stomach, I consistently hydrated, alternating water and Gatorade, popped some Sharkies every few miles, and kept my pace steady.  At Mile 15, the pain started to diminish and miraculously at Mile 16, it disappeared.  

 

17 Miles!

17 Miles!

About an 10:13 minute mile average pace, but I figure I have plenty of time to work on my time later.  Between this and the on-the-nose track workout on Wednesday (8 miles total, 5×800 m at 3:40ish each), I’m feeling pretty deserving of a cutback week and refuse to feel guilty about rolling around in bed until noon today.  As a side note, I will never understand people (*cough cough*MATT*cough cough*) who say they felt so good at Mile 17 or 18 or whatever that they ran a full 20.  As good as I might feel at the end of my 17, you know what feels even better?  GOING HOME AND TAKING A NAP.   

*   *   *

I have no food photos this week, I’m ashamed to say.  I went out to dinner with some girl friends last night at May Street Market, but the lighting was so dim that all my pictures came out super craptastic.  The food was excellent though – I had the grilled hangar steak with peaches, arugula, and onion rings.  I usually don’t order steak when I go out, but I had a huge hankering for red meat and the steak was so deliciously juicy.  For dessert, I had the Bing cherry spring roll – lots of juicy cherries stuffed in an egg roll wrapper and fried, then served with a ginger ice cream sandwich.  That ginger ice cream and the cookie it was served with was the most amazing thing ever.  

Next week, Fiancee and I are planning to head to the Wisconsin State Fair with Fiancee’s bro and his socially-inept, dull, and terribly clingy girlfriend.  I plan to distract myself by stuffing my face with greasy fair food – funnel cakes! curly fries! corn dogs!  I promise I’ll make up this picture-less week next week.

 

13 Responses to “Seven(teen) to Heaven”

  1. wollymon Says:

    Excellent work as usual, Kai!! I’m glad you got the 17 done and can have a nice cutback week.

    I must compliment you on your Garmin as well! I didn’t realize you had a 405 🙂

  2. Jenn Says:

    Wow – Nice job on 17 – I type with admiration. (I never got past 16 . . .only got up to 16 in training for Chicago ’07 due to missing long runs with an ankle stress fracture and then, I was at mile 16 on the marathon course when race was called. Mile 16 is my nemesis. I digress) I only did 10 today and was craving a nap . . .when I got home, husband went to work, I stretched, crawled into bed, 6 minutes later 4 year old is up. DRATS!. Oops we’re talking about me again, point of this comment is to congratulate you on 17!!!

  3. elisal20 Says:

    “his socially-inept, dull, and terribly clingy girlfriend.”

    this made me chuckle outloud, for my boyfriend’s brother’s girlfriend is the same way, and I see her way too often. hahahahahaha. good luck 🙂

  4. tfh Says:

    Wow, 17! You definitely deserve sleep, sleep, rest, sleep, and food. Hope this week puts the knee twinge to bed too. Sucks running when you have to waste mental space worrying that you might be aggravating something.

  5. Eileen Says:

    Nice job on the 17 miler!

  6. Kate Says:

    LOL, I’ve never understood the people that just feel so darn good they want to go longer either, usually even if I’m feeling energized, I just want to go home!

    Great job on the 17, I’m uber jealous.

  7. Lt Mascara Says:

    And I never understand runners like you that call that pace SLOW! 😉

    Great job on your run, take care of that knee and enjoy a very well earned cutback!

  8. runtexasrun Says:

    Wow Kai – I am so amazed… mile 17 already!

    And have fun with the fiancee – have a great cutback week 🙂 you deserve every bit of it!

  9. Jay2far Says:

    I want pics of clingy girlfriend being clingy, lol

  10. Goldie Says:

    Hi Chick!

    i’ve been having a proper snoop through your blog rather than just drooling over the pictures!

    I have questions… maaaaaany questions!

    You had a calf problem a while back… did you ever find out what it was? how long did it take to go away? did you stop running for a while or just drop mileage?

    how is your metabolism so fast? i need tips!

    also, what trainers do you run in? i’ve just covered the 300 mile mark on my asics… this will be the first pair of shoes i’ve run through and i need to invest in new ones… preferably something a bit more cushioned as i’m injury prone!

  11. robinbb Says:

    Great job on your 17 miler KaiKai….I think my 17 miler last week was almost the exact time. And yummy fair food, that is why I miss living in the midwest.

  12. lynsey Says:

    A little late here but nice job on your 17 miles, kick ass!
    That ginger ice cream sandwich sounds yummy. Enjoy the state fair but watch out for fried oreos or fried twinkies.

  13. Tra Says:

    question- which garmin do you have, and how much was it..
    you kick ass! yay asian runners!


Leave a comment